Sister Mary Jeanne Oesterle


Born and raised in Philadelphia, Sr. Mary Jeanne Oesterle attended Catholic school from first grade through university. She holds a bachelor’s degree in education from Gwynedd Mercy College, a master’s degree in education administration from Bloomsburg University, and received administrative certification from Fairfield University. Sr. Mary Jeane began her career in education in 1967 as a teacher of both elementary and students with special needs. For over thirty years she has served as an education administrator in a number of fine Mercy schools. Her passion is working with and ministering to young people in their formative years.

Sr. Mary Jeanne joined Walsingham Academy in 1990; she served fourteen years as Principal of the Lower School before her appointment as President of the Academy in 2004.

Angie Baker

Upper School Director

A longtime and highly respected member of the Upper School faculty, Mrs. Baker has served as a science teacher at Walsingham since the 2008-09 school year. She brings 18 total years of teaching experience and has previously served as an administrator at St. Frederick High School in Monroe, Louisiana.

Mrs. Baker believes that to be a Mercy educator is to exemplify for the students the Mercy values both inside and out of the classroom. She sees all students as being gifts to which she is accountable for their care, education, and growth.

Jenafer Naswadi

Lower School Director

Mrs. Naswadi is a product of Catholic schools from kindergarten through university. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in history, a Bachelor of liberal studies in elementary education (with a secondary education certificate), as well as a Masters in educational leadership all from Wheeling Jesuit University in Wheeling, West Virginia. She also holds certification in teaching English as a foreign language and teaching English to speakers of other languages from the International TEFL Academy in Chicago.

Mrs. Naswadi spent the first years of her professional career teaching middle school history and English at Lyceum Preparatory Academy and then ESL at Wheeling Jesuit University. She then ventured to Shanghai, China to teach English at Kid Castle Educational Institute. After returning from abroad, she began her tenure as the principal at Our Lady of Fatima Parish School in Huntington, West Virginia.

Mrs. Naswadi recognizes and understands fully the importance of educating the whole child. As a Mercy educator, she leads a life rooted in serving others. She is passionate about Catholic education and truly believes in the values of a quality Mercy education. Mrs. Naswadi is blessed to lead a loving community that inspires students to learn through teaching gospel values during these important developmental years. She believes that it takes a productive partnership with our families to ensure that our children can achieve their highest God-given potential. As partners, we share the responsibility for your children’s success and want you to know that we will all work together to carry out our school’s vision.

Read MoreRead Less

Board of Trustees

Walsingham Academy was founded in 1947 by the Sisters of Mercy of Philadelphia. A Board of Trustees was established in August 2002.

Chairwoman: Mary Ann Lemere P '18
Vice Chairman: Robert Hershberger
Secretary: Kevin Hughes

Michelle Alexander
Michelle Brauer P '04 '06
Henry Broaddus
Clifford Fleet
Jessa Guinn
Sister Elizabeth Marley
George McBeath P’16
Pam McGregor P '08 '10
Sister Mary Jeanne Oesterle
Jade Ranger
Leslynn Twiddy P ’05, ’08
Adria Vanhoozier
Megan Whiteaker '06